Go with the “Flow”

Often times, we say we are “go with the flow” type of people. Laid back, care-free, easy to please. I get it. I love when the ‘flow’ is a steady stream of words that I can pour onto the (electronic) pages but that seems to be happening less and less.

 

Should we be proud to go with the flow?

I have been at my current company just about a year, and been promoted twice (awesome) which I am grateful for, but this isn’t what I want to do with my life. This job, though enjoyable, isn’t what I planned to be doing or necessarily what I want to be doing. But, I keep moving up and ‘going with the flow’ to new positions within our department. Yes, more money and stability is great, and yes, I need to beef up my resume with work experience and gain skills, but I also want to be doing something that I love, wholeheartedly every single day of the year.

With that being said, I need to work on not getting comfortable in what life is giving me, but work towards my dreams. I may be the type to go with the flow, but I need to go against the grain and branch out. There’s more beyond the one river of life to explore. That’s something we should all keep in mind as we go about our days. Routines are great to get into, but they can also lead to ruts.

 

Think about where you want to be and how to get there. I know I will be.

Leave a Reply

