WordPress Inspires Me… #1

Write about the most precious thing you’ve ever lost.

When I was about 7 or 8, maybe 10, I was staying at a hotel with my dad and his girlfriend at the time (who I despised). When we left for the morning, I had left my little stuffed cat in my bed and the housekeepers must have picked it up with the sheets because when we came back, it was gone.  I was pretty upset. This was one of the cats that I’d had for as long as my seven-year-old brain could remember. It was a gray cat, just like one we had, Duchess, who had passed away the year before (I also had one named Snuggles, a real and stuffed animal cat, the twin brother of Duchess). We called down to the front desk, and they couldn’t find it. Now, I understand that these things happen all the time but I was pretty sad.  It’s funny how we remember these times in our lives for whatever reason.

Ironically, I work at a hotel now (even a part of the same chain as that one), and I have to tell people that we can’t find their things. It’s the worst.

That wasn’t the most precious thing I’ve ever lost, but my first and most distinct memory of losing something. I’ve lost other things through the years, but I’ve either found them or moved on.

The most precious thing I’ve lost was my grandmother. I feel like I got the short end of the stick in my family. My Great-Grandmother had my Grandmother when she was 20, my Grandmother had my Mother when she was 20, and my mom adopted me when she was 34. So while they were 80, 60, and 40, I was only 6. I had the longest gap, so I didn’t get as much time with my grandmother as I would have enjoyed. She died in 2010, but with her ailing health, she wasn’t the person she used to be for a few years then. Even still, I miss her, and I know my mom does too.  Grandparents are a great thing to have, and we should all cherish them.

 

Well….kind of a downer of a first post, but that’s okay. Things will be lighter from time to time. This blog is going to be my place to achieve two things:

1. Hone my writing skills: I need to keep my writing in tip-top shape and writing about anything will help that.

2. Get out all these thoughts: I have a lot of things that I find amusing, or that I want to talk about but not a lot of people share these thoughts. For example, I love talking about TV shows … in depth… and I’m rather partial to Netflix marathons. I’m a TV person, so there will probably be a lot of TV talk, but also random thoughts and ideas that are bouncing around in my cranium.

 

Leave a Reply

